Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences at the University of Arkansas:

Cultivating the next generation of leaders.

Group photo of CSES Department

Undergraduate Programs

The Department of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences has two undergraduate majors and many minors to choose from for students who are passionate about pursuing careers in science, production, conservation and sustainability.

View Undergraduate Majors

Female student wearing lab coat and goggles measuring liquid

Graduate Programs

Students interested in pursuing advanced degrees can choose one of our three concentations for the Master of Science degree, or complete a doctoral program in one of our 12 Ph.D. research areas.

View Program Info

Department faculty members in a group photo

Find an Expert

Our department is staffed with award-winning, nationally-recognized faculty members who not only serve students on campus, but also conduct research that benefits industries and communities across the state, nation and globe. 

View Directory


The University of Arkansas continues to work closely with public health officials at all levels to respond to the 2019 novel coronavirus (COVID-19). 

 Find the latest update on Coronavirus  (COVID-19)

CSES Departmental Seminar Schedule Fall 2022

PTSC 009 at 3:30-4:20 pm or join via Zoom



Seminar Title



First Day of Classes

No Seminar



Graduate Students Only

Departmental OrientationSeminar Expectations

Dr. Edwards


Labor Day

No Seminar











Dr. Mike Daniels

Water and Agriculture: What’s the Future for Arkansas?

Dr. Edwards


Dr. Larry Purcell 

Climate Change, Genetic Diversity, and Tropical Crops

Dr. Edwards 


Dr. Samuel Fernandes


Dr. Edwards


Fall Break

No Seminar



Dr. Wayne Powell

Principal and Chief Executive SRUC

Dr. Bacon


Tatum Simms (PhD)

Electrochemically Precipitated Struvite Effects on Soil Property and Crop Response

Dr. Brye


Tri-Societies Meeting

No Seminar



Joshua Winter (MS)

Association Study for Texture and Color in Natto Soybeans

Dr. Shakiba

Srikanth Karaikal (MS)


Dr. Burgos


Shane Ylagan (MS)

Using Apparent Electrical Conductivity to Delineate Field Variation in an Agroforestry System in the Ozark Highlands

Dr. Brye

Matthew Janorschke (MS)

Belowground Productivity within a Silvopasture System Managed at Three Basal Areas with Fescue Compared to Orchardgrass 

Dr. Savin


Matheus Noguera (PhD)

Glufosinate resistance in Amaranthus palmeri in the US mid-South: occurrence, mechanisms and management

 Dr. Burgos


Carrie Ann Followell (MS)

Dry Matter, Nutrient Accumulation and Partitioning of Irrigated Modern Cotton Cultivars in the Arkansas Delta Region 

Dr. Roberts

Dietrich Thurston (MS)

Hemp Phytoremediation and biochar adsorption of heavy metals in contaminated soils from Tar Creek superfund site

Dr. Miller

All graduate students and faculty should complete an evaluation form for each student seminar. The form can be completed on a computer or mobile device and submitted electronically. Access at the following link:

Mary Savin   

Dr. Owens Named SSSA Fellow

Dr. Phillip Owens has been named a Fellow of the Soil Science Society of America. Dr. Owens is Research Leader and a Research Soil Scientist at the USDA-Agricultural Research Service’s Dale Bumpers Small Farms Research Center in Booneville, AR and an adjunct faculty member in CSES.


The rice photographed is located at Lonoke Research Station. These plots were a part of weed control trials. 

Drone photograph taken by Wesley France, program associate for Dr. Poncet

Peter Gann

Samuel Fernandes Joins the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station's Department of Agricultural Statistics 

Dr. Fernandes, originally from Minas Gerais, Brazil, joined the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station's Statistics Laboratory in June. He will primarily split his research between the departments of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences and Horticulture

Soil Judging Team
Left to right:  Tristen Avent (first overall), Casey Arnold (6th overall), Mason Castner (3rd overall), Maria Carolina (undergraduate, high individual), and Juan Camilo Velasquez

Weed team victorious again!

The University of Arkansas Weed Team again won the Southern Weed Contest held in Memphis, TN on Wednesday. Team members consisted of Tristen Avent, Mason Castner, Casey Arnold, and Juan Camilo VelasquezTristen was recognized as the 1st place graduate student, and Mason and Casey finished 3rd and 6th, respectively.  Tristen was high individual in Calibration and in Herbicide SymptomologyVirginia Tech finished second and Mississippi State University was third in the team contest.  Maria Carolina de Carvalho Rocha Souza, an exchange student working under Dr. Norsworthy, won the undergraduate competitionMaria plans to begin pursuing an M.S. degree in the Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences department in January.


More News >